Moodle 3: Blocks: Administration: Overwrite a Current Moodle Course

  

Overwriting a course allows the instructor to place the entire content of a backed up course into a new course. Note: Using this feature will overwrite any existing content in the course. To import all materials from another Moodle course without wiping out your current course, you will need to Import All Materials. To manually select what will be imported into your current course, you will need to Selective Import.

For additional information, please visit GROK article #18477 Moodle 3: Ways to Restore or Import Content into a Course.
 

To Overwrite A Current Course:

1. Log in to Moodle and click on the course you want to overwrite. 

2. The Simple Restore block is a default block within the course. If the block was deleted, it can be added back. See GROK article 18411 for instructions.

3. In the new Simple Restore block, click Overwrite Course.

overwrite course link


4.  In the “Short name” field, enter text to search for the desired course. You can an easy search term, such as your name, or the department code and course number. (Example: BIOL 1001).

short name text box


5. A list of backups will appear. Select the desired backup file. You will only see those courses where you have authorized access.

Note: If you do not see a backup listed for the course you would like to use to overwrite your current course, you can manually backup the course (visit GROK article 18459 for instructions). 

list of backup courses within a given moodle course


6. Click Continue to Overwrite the current course.

overwrite current course confirmation.


7. A screen will appear telling you that the course was restored successfully. Select Continue to return to the course.

successfully imported course window.

18470
7/19/2017 1:39:34 PM